Experts from “An Alter-Eye, Bitter Tongue, Broken Heart And Empty Gun”

“I was born and raised with a pretty care free attitude. Age and experience as a Black person in this country saw me develop anxiety, bitterness and paranoia. My work as an artist has always been a blend (at best) but mostly a tug between those two sides of me – the natural and the developed. That paranoid adult searching for how to let that care free being within me find a place to exist, express and say its name without edit. That’s why I have always loved the art of drama, cause I exist in conflict, we all do, the problem is here in America we want to act as if all things can be solved in 2 hours or in 45 minutes (with 15 minutes of additional commercials). Quicktime solutions are our national past time (just look at the Iraq war), you will not find this in my cinema. I’m not arrogant enough to say I got the answers, Kanye would never make that accusation of me. None of us do and if someone is wearing that front pat ‘em down for a wire and ask them if their name is Smith. What I do have is a journey, honesty of my sight and an unflinching willingness to tell you how I really feel about something.” M.G. – Expert from an unfinished essay/memoir “An Alter-Eye, Bitter Tongue, Broken Heart And Empty Gun”  (2014)

Leave a comment